Thoughts on: Brilliant Smart Home System

Curious to hear what you think about the Brilliant Smart Home System products? Seems like a decent place to integrate support to display live data from your Tempest station (instead of general weather from who knows where).

Thoughts?

is this relevant… perhaps more future proof and world -wide https://www.theverge.com/2020/9/8/21427139/amazon-apple-google-zigbee-alliance-open-source-smart-home-standard-2021-launch
(but not yet available)

It’s cloud based and has too many points of failure. So on that, I’ll pass.

4 Likes

I’m with Gary on this one. No way am I going to pay $299 for a screen that’s 8X smaller than my $99 Fire Tablet on the wall and has cloud dependencies. Plus, a lot of their integrations are dependent on Smart Things, which is in the process of becoming a flaming train wreck for developers and integrators…

2 Likes

All these late-comers to the game think they have all the answers. I’ve been doing this for 40 years. Designing and building crap that I hoped would not burn the house to the ground. While the Internet is nice there is no way I want some server in Bugtussle, Alabama controlling my house.

I have a security system, power management, cameras and home automation all wrapped into a nice neat package. All locally controlled, battery backed up and Internet independent. Now I just need a Generac and I’ll be happy for a few weeks.

4 Likes

I’m with Gary on this one, z-wave with a local Vera Edge controller and modules. Too many non-local dependencies gives me the willies and the last few months have proved just how fast things can go sideways.

2 Likes

I use Insteon for most lighting control because once programed it’s fully functional without a controller. Then I add in a bunch of Inovelli Z-Wave devices for fun.

1 Like

You mean like Will.i.am running out of money to pay Wink’s cloud bills yesterday?