My device ID doesn't work?

Hello, I am new to the tempest community and this project as a whole.

I am attempting to use the wfpiconsole “off label” on a windows 11 machine. I followed the amazing instructions on the GitHub page and it all went smoothly until I got to what should have been incredibly simple… the device ID.

I then tried a suggestion I saw in another post to add my information to this URL.
https://swd.weatherflow.com/swd/rest/stations/XXXXXX?api_key=YYYY
Which gave me a good response from the station.

Any ideas on what I could possibly be missing? All feedback is appreciated.

**I apologize for the blurred information in the images. I was unsure if the station API key would be considered “sensitive” information.

Hi @james.riggs.sr, sorry you are running into issues. I think there might be some confusion between your station ID and device ID. When I try polling the API with your station ID (103412) I get a different response to what you have shared.

Can you open the Tempest app on your phone/web, click on SettingsStations[your station name]Status. Under the Hub title you should see the Station ID (sandwiched between Firmware Revision and Uptime). Can you share that with me? Scroll down a little further and under the Tempest title you should see Device ID (again sandwiched between Firmware Revision and Uptime). Can you share that with me too?

GLADLY!!! Screenshots attached.

Fwiw, I tried the station ID, device ID, and various iterations of the serial numbers too, but with the same result.

Curious, can you see my publicly shared page?
https://tempestwx.com/station/103412

Thank you for your help!

James

Thanks! In a private message could you share you WF Access Token with me? This will allow me to use your station data while I work out what is wrong. Once I have finished, feel free to delete the key and generate a new one

Random words to make this post 20 characters long… :laughing:

PM sent!

1 Like